jump to navigation

Vinegar date (and apricot) cake January 13, 2013

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Fruit, Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

I’m a big fan of vinegar and certainly use a lot of it, in brines, salads and of course, shrubs. But I don’t normally put vinegar in my cakes. Until I found these recipes, that is. I was really intrigued by the notion of adding vinegar to cakes and wondered if it would operate in a similar way to a shrub, adding brightness and tartness without actually tasting of vinegar.

Naturally I wanted to try making a vinegar cake as soon as I could. I used the second recipe on the page – but then adapted it slightly. I didn’t have enough dates so I decided to use some dried apricots too. Then I didn’t have enough of those either, so made up the difference with some dried cranberries. After I’d chopped the dates and apricots, I added them and the cranberries to a saucepan and simmered them in red wine for a few minutes.

Once that had cooled slightly, I added butter and stirred it in until it melted. Next I added olive oil, the vinegar, and then more normal cake things – sugar, eggs, flour. It was great being able to mix everything in the saucepan, and I was rewarded with a nice looking batter.

I poured the batter into a springform tin, and topped it with some slivered almonds (yes, yet another deviation from the recipe…). I baked it for about 45 minutes and left it to cool in its tin.

When it was cool, I carefully removed the sides of the tin and cut a slice. It was much fluffier and moister than I’d been expecting – I was expecting more of a fruit cake-type consistency. But I was definitely pleasantly surprised by the texture.

Having no cream or icecream in the house, I made do serving this with some fresh fruit. The cake itself was great and I was very happy with the combination of the fruit. As expected, I couldn’t taste the vinegar specifically but there was a general tartness which definitely brightened up the cake. As I am not a huge fan of traditional fruit cakes, I am very pleased to have found a substitute – and it has the added bonus of continuing my use of vinegar.

Comments»

1. bakingnotwriting - February 2, 2013

This cake looks terrific! I recently made candy with vinegar and was surprised that you couldn’t taste it at all. I think the role it plays in candy-making is similar to the role baking soda plays — something chemical. I have a food blog on wordpress too but I found you because I was searching for things about Nero Wolfe. He was my father’s favorite detective and in his honor, I am reading all of his Nero Wolfe mysteries in order. I’m up to “Over My Dead Body.” My Dad was also a gourmand, who weighed quite a bit and hated to leave the house. Anyway, I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks for writing it.


Leave a Reply

