jump to navigation

Merry Christmas and good luck! December 23, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

A quick post to say best wishes to everyone over the Christmas period, and good luck with everyone’s cooking over this time! May your meat be succulent, your sauces smooth (unless they’re not meant to be) and your desserts delectable.

I have gone a little baking crazy these holidays. Over at Food Replicator I made some gingerbread, which also resulted in about 50 gingerbread cookies of various shapes. Then thanks to a great Kris Kringle present, I found myself with a silicone pan for cakes in the shape of presents, so of course I had to try it out!

I used my standard chocolate cake recipe, which was fairly dense, and was pleased to see that the equivalent of one cake filled the small cake molds. Once cooked, they released from the mold very easily. I let them cool then decorated them fairly simply: a thin layer of fondant to let the design show through, and then I painted them with watered-down gel colours.

Very cute, and useful for birthdays and valentines day too!

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and all good things.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

