jump to navigation

Dried prosciutto (to use in place of salt) November 11, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Pork.
Tags:
trackback

Another in the occasional series of “do this now because it’s super easy and awesome”. I can’t take credit for this – I’m only copying what I saw at a restaurant recently. I started with some thinly sliced prosciutto which I separated.

You could do this in a dehydrator, of course, but since I don’t have one, I started by putting them in the oven to dry out. Then I got impatient and realised it would probably work just as well in the microwave with paper towels to catch the fat, so that’s what I did. In a few minutes I had super crispy pieces of prosciutto.

I then put the pieces into a mortar and pestle, and bashed them into little bits. I could have used a spice grinder, but I liked having different sizes of prosciutto pieces.

The resulting pieces are intensely salty and bacony. They make a great substitute for salt on just about everything – eggs, meat, cocktails…the list is practically endless.  To store it, I added a little bit of normal salt so the pieces wouldn’t clump together, and have been using it on everything.

This is definitely something I’ll always have a supply of from now on.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

