jump to navigation

Treacle tart October 14, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

I had purchased a container of treacle for some lollypop experiments, and had quite a bit left over. “No problem”, I thought. “I’ve always wanted to make a treacle tart”. And then I spent a while trawling the internet for treacle tart recipes, before discovering that treacle tart is actually made mostly from golden syrup with only a little bit of treacle. I admit that there was some ranting and raving about why something was called treacle tart when it didn’t even have treacle in it. I decided to make a treacle tart using more treacle than most recipes called for, to see if it would work.

I ended up using half treacle and half golden syrup. I thought that using some golden syrup was probably good for maintaining a level of sweetness in the tart.

I started by making a shortcrust pastry which, after chilling, I blind baked while I prepared the filling.

The filling was actually very simple: the treacle/golden syrup mix, eggs, lemon zest and juice, and breadcrumbs. It quickly came together and I poured it into the now cooked tart shell.

I added some scraps of leftover pastry for some decoration on the top, and returned the whole lot to the oven to bake.

After about 25 minutes, the filling had set and was firm to the touch. Unfortunately the filling had expanded during cooking, which had cracked the decorative pastry on the top. Not so decorative, but the intention was clear…

And the decoration was nicely preserved in the final slicing, which could be done on different angles to avoid the broken pastry.

I was expecting this tart to be super sweet and was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t. While it was quite rich, it was tangy from the lemon and the deep flavours from the treacle came through, which made it easier to eat. And it was even better the next day.

This is definitely something I’ll make again- probably with more treacle, not less. While I think it’s probably always necessary to have a bit of golden syrup in there, I’d like to try this with much more treacle, and see if I can make an actual treacle tart.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

