jump to navigation

Social media cupcakes – and an announcement September 9, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
trackback

If Nero Wolfe was around today, I think it’s pretty easy to say he’d detest social media. He can barely cope with radio, and TV is pretty much out of the question. Therefore, I can’t see him doing anything with social media. Archie, on the other hand, would be all over it, I’m sure.

It’s also fair to say that the world that social media allows us to inhabit means that new connections can be made, we can interact with such a wide range of people – and of course, blogs like this can exist.

I made these cupcakes as a thankyou to someone at my work who I persuaded (coerced may be a better word) to give a presentation with me about social media. It seemed only appropriate to make them social media themed!

I used my standard chocolate cake recipe and then iced the cupcakes with a thin layer of orange-flavoured buttercream. I cut out circles of fondant for my clean slate on which to put my designs!

To make the social media logos, I first traced them onto some baking paper. Then I used a toothpick to trace the outlines onto the cupcakes through the baking paper, taking care not to press too hard. I watered down a little bit of gel colouring with some vodka, and painted the designs on, following the outline left by the toothpick. I quite liked the watercolour effect this created too.

It seems fitting that I’m talking about social media because I decided to expand my social media horizons and create a new blog. It’s still food related, and I will be cooking the food from Star Trek. Geeky? Yes. Fun? Very! If you’re interested, you can warp over to the site and have a look.

This blog will still continue to be updated once a week with Nero Wolfe and related recipes, and the new Star Trek one will also be updated weekly.

Comments»

1. leaf (the indolent cook) - September 10, 2012

Ha, I like your social media cupcakes! Very geeky-cool. And popping over to your other site now.


Leave a Reply

