jump to navigation

Rabbit terrine with pistachios July 8, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Game.
trackback

The weather around here has not been pleasant. Cold, miserable, raining – day after day. I decided that it was perfect terrine making weather and set about making this a reality. I didn’t really follow a recipe, but instead put my skills learnt last year during Charcutepalooza to use by developing my own recipe – otherwise known as making it up a I went along.

I decided to make a rabbit terrine – I am very fond of rabbit but sometimes get sick of slow cooking it so thought this would be another way to serve it. I’d also never made a rabbit terrine before so thought I’d branch out from the usual pork.

I started by taking the rabbit meat off the bones, which I saved and made into stock. I added some pork fat since the rabbit meat was so lean, and ground it together with salt, pepper and rosemary.

I put the mince in the fridge to keep it cool and got to work chopping up garlic, onions and a couple of apples. I cooked the whole lot in some Aperol until they were soft and then left them to cool. I decided to use Aperol because of its orange flavour, but also because I thought the bitterness would be a nice contrast to the rabbit. I also roughly chopped some pistachio nuts. When this was all done and the onion mixture was cool, I mixed it all into the rabbit meat.

Another benefit of using the Aperol was that it turned the whole mix a garish orange! The onions and apples in particular had turned a particularly bright colour. Next I lined a tin with the remainder of my homemade bacon (prompting a crisis of no bacon in the house), and filled it with the rabbit mix. My bacon wasn’t quite long enough to fit over all the edges so I had to patch it together somewhat, nevertheless I was still able to fold the edges over the top.

I cooked it in a medium oven, in a water bath, for about an hour. Now, because I was impatient and did not want to wait another day before I ate the terrine, I wanted to cool it down as quickly as possible so I could slice it without it falling apart. So I replaced the water in the water bath with cold water and ice cubes, and after the tin had cooled down I stuck it in the freezer for about an hour. I acknowledge this was not as good as letting it rest overnight, and the flavours would have had more of an opportunity to develop, but as I said I was impatient.

So, about an hour later, I was ready to slice into my terrine. I served it with a salad which had plenty of capers and lemon juice in it, and some of my homemade olives.

While I’m sure the terrine would have been even more delicious if I’d waited a day, I still really liked this terrine. The rabbit and pistachios matched very well, with the pistachios adding a bit of crunch as well as flavour. The Aperol came through in the form of a bit of bitterness but was not overwhelming. The only thing I’d change next time is adding more rosemary and more apples; both got a bit lost but I really enjoyed the mouthfuls I had where I could taste them.

I was also pleased to see that while I haven’t done a lot of this kind of cooking this year, I was still able to do it and make a lovely terrine, and I found it a nice variation in the normal ways I prepare rabbit.

Comments»

1. Alex - July 9, 2012

These are really lovely recipes. Here in Brooklyn, New York, the weather “has not been pleasant” either. Right now it’s about 90 (Fahrenheit). And the thought of hot food fills me with dread. If it ever cools off here, I will try this one.

When I cook rabbit, it tends to dry out. Any recommendations?

inspiredbywolfe - July 10, 2012

Hi Alex,

Well the terrine is best cold – but I agree the cooking part would not be pleasant in the temperatures you are currently experiencing!

Rabbit is very lean so that is probably why it is drying out. So if you can add fat or liquid (or both!) that will help a lot. Wrapping it in bacon is a good way, or you could use caul fat. Or, you could cook it as a stew with stock or juice (eg from tomatoes). These are also probably best attempted when the weather is a bit more forgiving…

2. Agnes - July 22, 2012

Ooooh. I’ve always wanted to make a terrine but have never gotten around to it. Yours looks great.

inspiredbywolfe - July 23, 2012

Thanks Agnes! I think terrines are fun to make because they are quite forgiving in terms of what you can add – no need to strictly follow a recipe.


Leave a Reply

