jump to navigation

Cracked wheat and vegetables July 1, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Vegetables.
trackback

Since buying the cracked wheat to make bread, I thought I’d better find something to do with the rest of the cracked wheat I had left. I decided to make a vegetable dish, with lots of spices.

I started by pouring boiling water over the cracked wheat and letting it stand. I have found this is the easiest way to prepare cracked wheat, rather than boiling it. While the cracked wheat was simmering, I cooked some spices in some hot oil – mustard seeds, curry powder, chili, garlic and cumin.

While that was toasting, I chopped up fennel, mushrooms, zucchini and onion. I added the vegetables one by one and cooked them on high heat.

I also added curry leaves, and because I am not a good vegetarian, I also added some small diced pieces of bacon I’d made. These were the offcuts from the edge of the bacon, so they were quite salty – good in this dish, not great on their own.

When the vegetables were cooked, I added the cracked wheat and also cooked that for a couple of minutes just to get it a bit charred.

I garnished the wheat/vegetable mix with a couple more curry leaves.

I really liked this dish. It was lighter than it looked, and was very tasty from all the spices I’d added. While this was quite a simple dish in terms of ingredients and technique, it was still very tasty and satisfying.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

