jump to navigation

Spelt rolls May 13, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Bread.
Tags:
trackback

Recently I’ve been experimenting with making different types of breads with a variety of different flours. I’d been meaning to try some spelt flour for quite a while and finally got around to actually baking with it.

I started by making some spelt rolls, before I attempted a sourdough spelt loaf. I used a mixture of half spelt flour, half (normal) bread flour, and added yeast, salt and water.

After the first rise, which took about an hour and a half, I punched it down and formed it into rolls. After I’d formed the rolls, I made some cuts into them to form a pinwheel shape.

I left them rest and rise again, before baking them for about 30 minutes. One of the exciting things about our new house is that it has an Outside, so I thought it was a good opportunity to display the rolls in a suitable picturesque setting.

I found the spelt rolls suprisingly light – for some reason I was expecting quite dense things. I found in general that the spelt behaved differently than the normal flours I was used to working with – in particular, the way it absorbed water seemed a bit different. At first it seemed that there was too much water for the flour, but over a few minutes the spelt seemed to absorb it all fine – it just took longer than usual.

The spelt had a distinctive flavour and smell – I found it more savoury and somewhat nutty compared to regular flours. This, compared to its lack of denseness meant I enjoyed the rolls very much, and will certainly be incorporating spelt into my regular bread baking.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

