jump to navigation

Dulce de leche filled cookies March 25, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
trackback

One of the eternal questions: why does caramel make such a good filling for things? I have used it in cakes, muffins, and now, cookies. Technically, this time I did not use caramel but instead used dulce de leche, which is caramelised condensed milk. I would strongly recommend making the dulce de leche yourself, as it is super easy and much cheaper than buying it in stores. To make it yourself, get a tin of condensed (not evaporated) milk, remove the label and place in a saucepan full of boiling water. Boil for 3-4 hours, and you will have dulce de leche. The hardest part is ensuring that the cans are always fully immersed in the water as apparently explosions can result if this is not done.

Dulce de leche can of course be eaten out of the can with a spoon, or slathered onto pancakes or similar. I decided to make some cookies and stuff them with dulce de leche. To make this easier, I put the can of dulce de leche in the freezer while I made the cookie dough, to make it easier to handle and hopefully less molten when put in the oven.

I made a simple sugar cookie recipe, using brown sugar instead of white, and adding some powdered ginger for extra spice.

To make each cookie, I took a piece of dough and flattened it into a circle, put a glob of dulce de leche in the middle, added another piece of dough before rolling the whole thing up to seal the dulce de leche in. Next time, I think I’ll flatten the final cookie a bit, as they did end up very round.

I ended up with 15 cookies, which I chilled in the fridge for about 30 minutes (this was not planned and was primarily because the oven was in use, but I thought it would also help the cookies keep their shape and thus the caramel would have less chance of oozing out). I cooked the cookies at 180 degrees for 10 minutes.

Well, the cookies certainly kept their shape! Perhaps a bit better than I was expecting. If I make them slightly flatter next time, it should stop some of the puffiness. Although they may not have been the most attractive, they were certainly great to bite into. The dough had surrounded the dulce de leche nicely, leaving a pocket in the middle filled with the caramel.

These were obviously quite sweet, but very nice to eat. The ginger added a hint of spiciness and next time I’d consider adding some salt to get the salt-caramel flavour. As well as making them flatter, next time I’ll also make them a bit smaller!

Having used up about a quarter of my dulce de leche tin, I’m now frantically figuring out what to do with the rest, before I just eat it all with a spoon and pass out in a sugar-induced haze!

 

Comments»

1. akismet-6584c1cba86c80165dca0d1e6c02f637 - March 27, 2012

Haha, make them into dulce de leche brownies!


Leave a Reply

