jump to navigation

Fish poached in cream March 22, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Fish.
Tags:
trackback

A cookbook which provides me a lot of inspiration is Darina Allen’s The Forgotten Skills of Cooking. The book itself is beautiful, with photographs throughout, and the commentary surrounding the recipes provides as much inspiration as the recipes themselves. In this case, I found a deceptively simple recipe while flicking through the fish chapter, and decided to give it a go.

The recipe called for firm, white fish – I used blue grenadier. To start with, I sauteed an onion in butter, and when it was translucent, added the pieces of fish.

I poured in cream (and added a bit of milk), then added some bayleaves. The recipe had stated to cover the fish entirely with cream – as you see I didn’t have enough for that, so flipped the fish halfway through to make sure each side had its time in the sauce.

It didn’t take very long until the fish was done, and I removed it from the pan, leaving the creamy sauce behind. To serve with the fish, I chopped up some kale and cooked it in the sauce left in the pan. Because this clearly wasn’t rich enough already, I added some pieces of bacon too.

The kale also didn’t take very long, so in about 30 minutes (start to finish), I had some nicely poached fish with kale to go with it.

I know it looks quite plain and boring, but the fish was anything but. The sweetness of the onions had permeated the fish along with the delicious bayleaf tastes and the cream, resulting in fish that was soft, delicate and flavoursome. This was combined with the chewy kale in the cream sauce, which was a great accompaniment.

All in all, this was a comforting and simple meal, but one that was still complex in terms of flavours and textures. While I might not be great at following the recipes in the book exactly, it will continue to provide inspiration and new ideas for me.

 

Comments»

1. john pereira - August 29, 2015

I would like to see the man or woman showing these recipies who is this wolf an fictional character? like the detective

2. foodinbooks - May 16, 2016

Used your poaching method as part of a recipe of my own for poached tilapia. Worked excellently well, and I loved the idea for cooking veg in the same creamy poaching liquid. Will have to try. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

