jump to navigation

Osso bucco buns March 7, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Beef.
Tags: ,
trackback

So naturally after we had a very hot weekend and I made whitebait, the next weekend was cold and rainy. It therefore seemed appropriate to get some pieces of meat requiring slow cooking, and simmer them slowly for several hours until they were soft.

I decided on osso bucco, and began by browning the beef osso bucco pieces, before adding beef stock, onions, tomatoes, celery, carrots, rosemary, salt, pepper and bayleaves. I let everything simmer together before turning down the heat and letting it cook slowly.

Normally, when making something like osso bucco, once the meat is simmering away, you can use the time for other things, like solving murder mysteries (if you are Nero Wolfe). However, this time, I knew I’d have to spend the time making steamed buns which I was planning to stuff the osso bucco into when cooked. I used the steamed bun recipe from David Chang’s Momofuku pork buns, and began by mixing the flour, yeast and other ingredients together. Incidentally – the recipe calls for rendered pork fat or vegetable shortening; I used duck fat because that’s what I had on hand, and it worked fine.

I let the dough rise for about an hour, then punched it down and rolled it into balls. I left them to rise for another 30 minutes or so.

When they had risen appropriately, I took each ball, flattened it and stretched it into an oval. I got a chopstick, dipped it in the duck fat, and folded the dough over the chopstick. I placed each bun on a piece of greaseproof paper and loaded them into the steamer.

I thought that they looked like they were smiling at me! At least they were happy. I let them rise for the last time in the steamers, and then began to steam them. Having only two steamers, I had to steam the buns in batches. Each batch took about 10 minutes, and once they were ready, I immediately removed them to cool while I steamed the next batch. Incidentally – the steamed bun recipe said it would make 50 buns, and I got 50 exactly.

When the last bun had come out of the steamer, the osso bucco was ready, almost falling off the bone. I chopped up some radishes and parsley to act as garnishes, and then set up a filling station to make up the buns.

I scooped out some of the marrow (the best bit) and spread it on a bun. I added some pieces of meat, and some of the vegetables and liquid it was stewed in, then garnished it with the radishes and parsley. There were quite a few to make but luckily I had enough meat to fill about half of the buns.

I thought this was a very nice way of enjoying osso bucco. Adding some of the cooking liquid ensured they were juicy, and the radishes and parsley helped cut through the thick flavours of the osso bucco and bone marrow. While I am a fan of the original pork buns on which this was (somewhat) based, I also very much enjoyed this variation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

