jump to navigation

Duck cups February 21, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Duck.
Tags:
trackback

I think if he had a choice, my partner H would eat everything in canape form. Lots of little bite-sized morsels, all delicately arranged and beautifully presented. Of course this means a great number of canapes to make a full meal – as in this case.

I read a recipe for using wonton skins as cups to hold other ingredients (apologies, I did not note where I read the recipe) and used this idea as the basis for this dish. I wanted to use duck, and began by making a marinade with garlic, ginger, lemongrass, sesame oil, hoisin sauce and fish sauce.

I coated the duck breasts in the marinade, and then scored them quite deeply before searing them. I started with the skin side down, and basically cooked the duck in its own fat as it rendered out.

Once they were cooked, I let them rest while I prepared the rest of the meal. I put the rest of the marinade in the frying pan and heated it until the ginger and garlic were cooked. I deglazed the pan with some white wine, and used the liquid to steam some bok choi.

I then turned to the wonton dough. Like similar doughs, wonton dough is made of water, flour and egg. I mixed the dough together then rolled it out as thin as I could. I cut large circles from the dough, then folded them into a muffin tin.

I baked them for about 10 minutes, and after they had cooled a little, found them easy to pop out of the muffin tin and cool further on a rack. They were quite hard, and very crunchy. Perfect to hold other things!

Once they were cooled, I sliced the duck and bok choi. I also boiled down the remaining marinade until it was quite thick and could be spooned over as a sauce. In each wonton cup, I put a piece of bok choi, a couple of slices of duck, a spoonful of the sauce and some fresh coriander. Here’s a shot of the duck cup assembly line.

I assembled a big platter of these duck cups to act as our dinner and I was very happy with how they turned out. The duck was still a little pink inside and beautifully juicy. With the bite of wonton, bok choi and sauce, it was like roast duck, in reverse.

Of course, now the expectation is that all meals come in canape form. While I’m not planning to do this any time soon, this was a fun way to serve a nice dinner.

Comments»

1. Kathy - February 28, 2012

Those look delicious. Mmmmmmmm, duck …. *salivates on keyboard*


Leave a Reply

