jump to navigation

Chicken and kale quiche February 12, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Chicken, Vegetables.
Tags:
trackback

I have recently become obsessed with kale. This is not to say I haven’t eaten it in the past – but lately I’ve been really enjoying it. I’ve made salads with it, sauteed it to serve with fish, and dried out the leaves so they become like chips. Part of the reason I like it so much is because it doesn’t lose its shape or texture once it’s cooked.

This time, I felt like a quiche to decided to make a quiche with kale and chicken. I also took the opportunity to make pastry with suet for the first time, after seeing a block of it for sale at the butcher’s. I grated the frozen suet then mixed it into the flour and added water until it formed a dough. It was surprisingly easy to work with. I started on the vegetables by cooking the kale with some minced garlic, onions and a little white wine. I only cooked it for a couple of minutes, just enough for it to soften slightly.

Next, I rolled out the suet pastry, brushed some mustard on it and added some pieces of chicken thigh. The suet pastry seemed more pliable than butter-based pastry recipes I’ve used previously, and was very easy to work with. I didn’t bother blind baking the crust, as apparently that isn’t as necessary with suet pastry.

I sliced up more chicken, and made a mixture of eggs, cream, milk, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a little bit of cayenne pepper. By this time the kale had cooled, so I added it to the pastry shell, poured in the egg mixture and arranged the chicken on top. Here’s a photo of it in the oven – I had enough leftover mixture and pastry to make some miniature quiches too, and that’s what you can see cooking on the shelf below.

After about 35 minutes, the egg mix had set and I declared it done. It did get rather brown on the top, but had not burned.

After begrudgingly waiting for the quiche to cool, I was able to cut some slices.

This quiche confirmed my current love of kale – it provided both great flavour and texture in the quiche. I feel that quiches can sometimes be a bit homogenous in texture so it was nice to have this variety. I was also very pleased with the suet pastry – it was light and flaky and I think I do prefer it to butter-based pastry. Luckily, I have more suet so will certainly try this pastry again.

I will continue to eat kale in as many dishes as I can – I much prefer it to spinach. My only complaint is that it doesn’t seem very common in Australia and is not generally available. Now I have found a supplier I will continue to get it as frequently as I can.

 

Comments»

1. Adelaide - February 12, 2012

Kale is ubiquitous at farmers’ markets … Join us one week!

Also – did you know there’s vegan suet? Just for your information …

inspiredbywolfe - February 12, 2012

Yes, I’ve always found it odd that an ingredient always present at farmers’ markets seems to have never made the jump to greengrocers or other markets. Maybe it is just too popular at the farmers’ markets!


Leave a Reply

