jump to navigation

Mead (part 1) February 8, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Drinks.
Tags:
trackback

This is not a full, finished recipe but instead a preliminary report of something which will hopefully be successful in a couple of months…

I can’t remember why I got the idea to make mead, but when I saw this recipe and how easy it was, I knew I had to try it myself. For the unaware (as I was until fairly recently!), mead is a wine (not a beer) brewed from honey rather than grapes. The final product has about 11% alcohol. Now, there’s a whole industry devoted to homebrewing which includes supplies suitable for making mead, but I thought I’d try it with supplies around the house (as per the link above) and see if it worked out. At this point, I’m still waiting to see if it will indeed be successful…

I bought a 4 litre bottle of water and a fair amount of honey. I removed some of the water to be able to fit the honey in, and also added some pieces of orange and a handful of raisins. Here’s what the components of mead look like…

I shook it all up to mix the honey in the water, and ended up with this.

At this stage, I let it sit overnight until I could take it to work the next day. I wanted to make sure I could keep it in a sink in case it bubbled up over the top of the bottle! The next day, I added bread yeast (yes, this recipe stated that bread yeast is OK to use…) and shook it all up again.

Instead of a fancy brewing thingy to put on the top of my bottle, I poked some holes in a balloon with a needle, and fixed this to the top of the bottle. After a couple of hours, it began frothing up, and the balloon expanded a little with the gases from the mead.

The balloon means that the gases produced can get out – without letting anything else in. Since taking that photo, the frothing has died down a bit and I have been able to add a bit more water to top it up. It smells very nice and yeasty and sweet which I am thinking is a good sign.

It should be ready in a couple of months – apparently I will know it is ready when it goes clear, and the oranges sink to the bottom of the bottle. I will report back when it is completed and hopefully drinkable!

Comments»

1. leaf (the indolent cook) - February 8, 2012

I love mead, I have a bottle sitting in my pantry – but I’ve not thought about making it! Looking good – hope it all goes well for you!

inspiredbywolfe - February 11, 2012

Thanks leaf! I am crossing my fingers and hoping for the best.


Leave a Reply

