jump to navigation

Gin and walnut icecream (semifreddo) February 1, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

With the summer here finally heating up, I decided it was time to try making icecream – without an icecream maker. Unfortunately I don’t have a proper reference for the recipe I used – a friend had cut it out of a magazine and I took a photo of it on my phone. The recipe seems to be a simplified version of the Gourmet Traveller one here – and, as Nic points out, is properly a semifreddo, not icecream.

To start with, I whisked egg yolks and sugar in a bowl until creamy. I then added gin and golden syrup, and again whisked everything together.

I then added some cream and whisked until soft peaks formed. Sorry – no photos of this – I whisked by hand and must have been too addled/tired at the end to take any photos.

Next, I roughly chopped some walnuts and folded them into the mixture, before putting the whole thing in a loaf tin and into the freezer. I ended up freezing it overnight, and was rewarded the next day with something very icecream-like in appearance. I also didn’t take any photos of this stage (as I was too busy eating the icecream) but here’s a photo of the tin when the icecream was about half eaten, just so you can see how much it made.

To serve, I chopped up a few more walnuts and sprinkled them on top.

The only difference between this and normal icecream is that it seemed to melt faster. In all other ways, it was icecream! The flavour of the gin clearly came through, and was complimented nicely by the walnuts. As someone who doesn’t like super-sweet things, I really like the idea of being able to control the amount of sugar in the final product. This basic recipe is also very forgiving and I have since made a rum and raisin version which was also delicious. I think as long as the correct ratio between alcohol and cream is maintained, any combination of flavours would be possible. The other great thing is that it’s now possible for me to make a close approximation of icecream without needing to get an icecream maker, which keeps both my bank balance and my (already cluttered) kitchen bench very happy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

