jump to navigation

Jamaican goat curry January 29, 2012

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Game.
Tags:
trackback

The journey through the freezer continues. You will be pleased to know that I did finally locate the goat I thought I’d found before. It was a fairly large piece, perfect for stewing. After looking at a few recipes, I thought I’d try making a Jamaican goat curry, from this recipe by Hank Shaw.

Not having any Jamaican curry powder, I made my own using curry powder and allspice. I immediately knew this curry was going to be a success when I smelled the Jamaican curry powder.

I chopped all the meat into cubes, then added some of the curry powder to some oil. When that was heated, I added the meat to brown it – I had to do a few batches.

After all the meat was browned, I cooked garlic, ginger, onion and chilis in the flavoured oil, and when they were soft, I returned the meat to the pot. I added coconut milk, some water, dried thyme, and the remainder of my Jamaican curry powder.

I brought it to the boil, and then it was simply a matter of reducing it to a simmer and leaving it for about 3 hours. As you can see, the sun was starting to set when the curry was finally ready.

I did skip one step in the original recipe – I didn’t make any potatoes to put in the stew. Instead, I made some polenta to sop up the wonderful sauce that had formed.

This was a very nice curry and certainly a new flavour for me. The goat was nice, being slightly gamey but not overwhelmingly so – but I’m sure that beef would work well too. Leftovers the next day were even nicer as the flavours had more time to deepen and mingle. I really liked the taste of this curry and while spicy, it was more tasty with interesting flavours rather than just being hot. I was particularly happy I’d found such a great use for my goat – once I’d actually located it, of course…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

