jump to navigation

Fig Souffle November 20, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Fruit, Sweet things, Wolfe recipe.
Tags:
trackback

I don’t know what your supermarket is like, but mine likes to be sharing and caring. This translates into telling us how much money we’re saving (sometimes even a whole dollar!), and providing specific areas for communities present in the surrounding suburbs. We have long had a Kosher section, and recently I noticed that a South African section had been added. South African delights for sale included biltong, a malt porridge-type of thing, and tins of fig jam. Of course we had to sample many of the offerings, including the fig jam.

The fig jam was very good – it had some small chunks of figs and the seeds were scattered throughout. While it was all very well and good to eat the jam on toast, I thought it would be nice to make something from it. Luckily Nero Wolfe had the answer, and I set about making a fig souffle.

The Nero Wolfe Cookbook called for pureed figs, to which I was meant to add sugar. I decided that the jam was probably sweet enough, but I still warmed the jam up and stirred in some grand marnier before l let it cool.

This souffle was different to other souffles I’d made: only egg whites were to be used. I guess this means it was more of a fig meringue than a souffle? Anyway, I whipped the egg whites until they were at soft peak stage, then folded in the (now cool) fig jam.

While the recipe said to put the whole mixture into a large souffle dish and bake, I chickened out. I didn’t really have a dish I could use, and I was concerned about the souffle turning into a wobbly mess in a large dish. Instead, I used four smaller ramekins, and reduced the baking time accordingly.

When they were done, I served them immediately with some pieces of kiwi fruit (I think I was thinking along pavlova lines).

While I’d been concerned about the lack of egg yolks, these souffles were just as fluffy as previous ones I’ve made. I was also worried that the chunks of figs in the jam were just going to fall to the bottom of the souffle – there were some on the bottom, but there were also some dispersed among the souffle which pleased me greatly. The souffle itself was light, with the taste of fig coming through well. Next time I would add more grand marnier (or similar), as I got hints from this from time to time but did not feel it had much of an overall presence.

The main issue with souffles is timing them to suit the diners. As I said the last time I made souffle, they work best when you have a Fritz standing by in the kitchen, waiting to hear the word that you are ready for the souffle. Souffles definitely can’t last once they’re out of the oven – which really, is just an excuse to eat them all on the spot!

Comments»

1. Celia - November 22, 2011

First off, I’m so jealous your supermarket carries biltong! There’s a shop near me that makes it, but they charge ludicrous prices; I totally need to DIY it again…And I totally need to try this out. I’m terrified of massive souffles as well, and I love your individual serving idea. Just unearthed my ramekins…perfect timing…


Leave a Reply

