jump to navigation

Homemade coconut milk yogurt November 7, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags: ,
trackback

You may have noticed I’ve been getting more and more into the whole fermentation thing. Fermented bread, fermented vegetables – and now, fermented milk. I had recently tried some (storebought) coconut yogurt, and while I found it absolutely delicious, it was also absolutely expensive. Knowing that many people make cow’s milk yogurt at home, I decided to try making coconut milk yogurt and save my despondent bank balance.

The method is similar to making other forms of yogurt with the proviso that it is best to add a form of thickener as the resulting yogurt will be fairly thin – not much thicker than the milk you start with. I followed this recipe, and began by heating the coconut milk. I used two cans or about 800 ml.

Once it had reached 82ºC, I took it off the heat and stirred in a couple of spoonfuls of pectin, and some honey. The honey provides sugar for the bacteria in the yogurt to eat (as there is no lactose sugar, which is what the bacteria digests if you are making yogurt from cow’s milk). Once it had cooled to 40ºC, I stirred in a quarter of a cup of the (expensive) store-bough coconut yogurt I had, and set up my high-tech incubating machine.

I have found another use for the esky! Always handy for sous vide, now good for yogurt incubation too. I ended up with one large jar of yogurt, and added a couple more jars full of water at about 40ºC – and tipped some more warm water in the bottom of the esky for good measure. I bundled the whole thing up with towels to provide additional insulation, and left it overnight.

The next morning I woke up to find I had yogurt! It was still on the thin side – next time I will add more pectin – but was flavoursome and tangy. I used some on my morning muesli to make a type of bircher muesli – as you can see it was still fairly thin.

To serve, I mixed the yogurt through the muesli and added some strawberries.

The yogurt was lovely and quite tangy. I did find that it thickened as I left it to cool in the fridge – it’s now still at spooning consistency (not thick like a greek yogurt) but a lot thicker than it was! I’m assuming I needed to let the pectin have time to do its thing and I was just too impatient!

I’m intending to keep making the yogurt from now on – I can save a little of this batch to provide the bacteria for the next batch. The yogurt starter (as it were) doesn’t have a name yet, so any suggestions of a suitable name to join Fitzwilliam are more than welcome!

 

 

Comments»

1. Adelaide - November 7, 2011

Fitzhenry? Fitzhugh? Fitzajollygoodfellow?

inspiredbywolfe - November 14, 2011

Was thinking Fitzherbert myself…

2. K - November 7, 2011

I’ve been loving making my own soy yogurt, but my recent attempt to make it from coconut milk failed, was way too thick and had a weird after taste.

inspiredbywolfe - November 14, 2011

Hi K! If I had any issue it was that the yogurt was too thin. One thing i did read was the importance of including some extra sugar in some form for the bateria to eat – not sure if the absence of sugar would cause a weird aftertaste?


Leave a Reply

