jump to navigation

Happy Halloween! October 30, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

When I went to make these cookies, I realised that although I have lots and lots of Halloween cookie cutters, I’ve not used them to actually make cookies. I’ve used them for things like making fruit gelees, pancakes, and of course, polenta. I decided I should really use the cookie cutters for what they were actually intended.

I made chocolate cookies and flavoured the icing with mint essence. While I liked the ghosts, bats and cats, I think my favourite were the spiders’ webs.

Ironically, my favourite cookies were those just using round cutters – no fancy Halloween cutters required! To make these, I outlined the spider web shape, then filled / flooded with icing. Before that flood icing could dry, I piped circles of different coloured icing and ran a toothpick through them to create the individual webs. The next day, I added the spiders on top.

And just in case you think I’m only thinking about Halloween, I also used this opportunity to make some Day of the Dead cookies too.

I used a skull and crossbone cutter, and removed the crossbone part before baking. They were a lot of fun to decorate!

Whatever your Halloween plans are, I hope they are appropriately ghoulish, horrifying, and delicious.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

