jump to navigation

Candied ginger September 25, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

I am rather addicted to candied ginger. We usually don’t have any in the house because it disappears so quickly after crossing the threshold. I’d been reminded (thanks to twitter) that making candied ginger at home was pretty straighforward, so I decided to give it a go myself. I used David Lebovitz’s recipe – but there are lots of recipes around if you want to try it yourself.

To start with, I peeled some ginger by scraping the skin off with a spoon. Now, I know this method means you can get all the skin off from the strange knobs of the ginger, but it was rather more time consuming than I’d been expecting. At least it smelled nice while I was doing it. Next, I cut the ginger into thin slices of various sizes.

I cooked the ginger briefly by covering all the ginger in cold water, allowing it to come to the boil and then simmering it for 10 minutes. I did this twice, and then made a syrup of sugar and water. Once all the sugar had dissolved, I added the slices of ginger and monitored the temperature on my candy thermometer.

I had to let the mixture get to 106°C which took a while, since I had to wait for the water to boil off. As I didn’t want to store the ginger in its syrup, I immediately took the ginger out of the saucepan when it had reached the required temperature, and spread the pieces out on a rack to dry (with a tray underneath to catch the drips!).

I kept the syrup the ginger had cooked in (great to use in cocktails!), and, once the pieces of ginger had cooled, tossed them in sugar to finish them off.

This ginger is far superior to anything you can buy in the store. It’s a lot spicier and the taste of the ginger comes through a lot better. I know traditionally candied ginger is meant for cakes and things, but as usual, my grand plans of saving some to use later didn’t quite eventuate. Instead, I found them a delicious snack, even more addictive than the store bought stuff. Oh dear…

Comments»

1. saffron and salt - September 26, 2011

Yes, syrup for cocktails is the best. I still have some Seville orange syrup from last winter for making whisky sours. It’s the best


Leave a Reply

