jump to navigation

Fritz’s pate June 30, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Chicken, Innards, Wolfe recipe.
Tags:
trackback

When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade – or so the saying goes (although I prefer the addition of gin, myself). In this case, I will say: when life gives you liver, make pate!

Freezer roulette is something that happens on a fairly regular basis in my household. Most of the time I pull out what I want, and can identify what the different things are. In this case, I pulled out what I thought was a piece of goat to defrost, only to discover a bit further down the track that it was actually a bunch of chicken livers!

Not being deterred, I decided to follow Fritz’s advice and make some chicken liver pate. To start, I boiled onions, celery, parsley and a bay leaf in salted water. After a few minutes, I added the chicken livers, and simmered them for about 10 minutes.

The recipe then called for the livers to be coarsely chopped before blending; however, I decided my blender could handle whole chicken livers and chucked them in whole. I also added most of the onions and celery from the mixture. To the blender, I also added cognac, butter, nutmeg and mustard. The recipe also called for marsala but we didn’t have any on hand – so I added some grand marnier instead. I was also meant to add a whole chopped truffle – but funnily enough, I didn’t have one of those on hand either!

As an aside, I’ve decided it’s impossible (for me) to take nice, or at least OK, photos of pate. It’s browny-grey and not great to look at. So I apologise for the photographs!

Not having a specific terrine mould, I buttered a loaf pan and added the pate mixture into it. I left it to chill overnight in the fridge.

The recipe instructed me to remove the pate from the mould and then slice it to serve. However, even after chilling, I found the pate too soft to just slice up. I used a cookie cutter to help shape some pate, in an attempt to get a nice looking piece on the plate.

I served the pate with some rye sourdough bread, homemade olives, and a salad.

Having never made pate before, I was surprised how easy it was. It was minimal effort for a great result! The taste was fantastic – the livers came through but were quite mild in their taste, and the flavours of the cognac and grand marnier came through. While it was quite different from the goat I’d been planning, I was still very happy with the result.

Comments»

1. mosaica - June 30, 2011

I’ve never heard the phrase freezer roulette, but I’m all too familiar with what it refers to! I should say that my version of freezer roulette involves the extra excitement of getting bonked on the head by falling packages of mysterious provenance; such fun 😉

Beautiful looking paté, and your olives are particularly thrilling. I would so love to process my own olives! Though they don’t grown around these parts, I bet I could mail-order some.

Cheers 🙂

inspiredbywolfe - July 1, 2011

Ahh yes, the ‘getting hit on the head with the frozen goods’ routine – always a good one! Regarding the olives, I am lucky enough to live in an area near the beach, where everyone wants to pretend they live in the Mediterranean, so they grow lots of olive trees…and have no idea what to do with the fruit. We went for a walk one day and picked 4kg of olives from neighbourhood trees without making much of a dent in the supply!

2. Ken - April 9, 2012

I’ve only made Fritz’s Pate one time, but I followed the recipe in ‘The NW Cookbook’ as accurately as possible. I bought a bottle of Marsala specially and drove fifteen miles, into downtown Detroit, to get the truffle. I also left the entirety just a little chunky.

I, too, found that slicing wasn’t the best way to handle things, but I have an antique sterling butter knife that worked just right as a tool to spread it on chunks of torn-off baguette.

Glorious!!!

KS


Leave a Reply

