jump to navigation

Sugar experimentation June 19, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

As the annual Threadcakes competition has opened again, I’ve been planning out some possible cake designs to enter. One of the thoughts I had involves a lot of poured sugar, and since I’ve not worked much with sugar before I thought I’d start by doing something a bit smaller.

I’d had the idea to make toppers for cupcakes and cakes using royal icing and poured sugar. Royal icing dries so hard, I thought that maybe I could build up layers of royal icing to form a wall of sorts, and then add the sugar in the middle. I made up a batch of thick royal icing, and freehanded some butterfly-ish outlines onto some wax paper. I let them dry overnight, and in the morning, began heating up some sugar, with corn syrup, cream of tartar and water added.

When it was almost ready, I added some colour.

When it reached 150°C, I took it off the heat and poured it into a glass jug. Then, I carefully poured the sugar into the ‘holes’ left by the royal icing. After it dried, I peeled them off and added them on top of cupcakes I’d made.

I really liked the way the sugar looked – almost see-through – and the smooth surface reflected the light nicely. However, the royal icing was very fragile and some of the edges broke off. I thought they were indeed cute for adding onto cupcakes or cakes, but I’m not sure they would be durable enough to last for a long time. As an experiment, I was quite happy with the results!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

