jump to navigation

A sausage grand tour May 15, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Beef, Charcutepalooza, Pork, Veal.
Tags:
trackback

As you have seen on this blog or on twitter, I’ve been on a holiday. It was not quite a grand tour but we did make it all the way around the world. Culinary highlights included eating at the Fat Duck in the UK, the Breslin in New York, and the hawker stands in Singapore – more detailed reports will come soon. We returned last Wednesday, and I knew I only had until today to complete the May Charcutepalooza challenge of making sausages! Luckily I’ve made sausages before so was confident I could make some sausages in a relatively short time, even if I was jetlagged.

This month’s challenge was to make chorizo or merguez sausage. I decided to make merguez as I’d not had it before and liked the sound of a fairly spicy sausage. Taking inspiration from my recent holiday, I decided to make a sausage grand tour of sorts, representing some of the places we’d visited.

I got to work dicing all the meat I needed.

I then realised I’d have great difficulty in remembering which mixture was in which bowl, so when I weighed out the remaining ingredients for each sausage, I labelled the bowls…

There’s no photos of the grinding or stuffing process as I found again that two hands were needed – even four at some times! This was the first time I’d used the Kitchen Aid sausage stuffer attachment – although I’d ground meat through it before, I’d previously stuffed my sausages using a hand grinder. While the Kitchen Aid was certainly quicker, I did find I was stopping more frequently to deal with air pockets and ensure the mixture was getting fed through evenly. More practice is required! I should add that I only had one type of casing in the house, and some of the sausages definitely would have been better in larger cases – but this is what happens when you make sausages the day after coming home! Anyway, when I was done, I had four types of sausages.

So, we have: Merguez (the red one on the top), Cambridge (brown-ish one towards the front), Bratwurst (pink to the left) and kangaroo (deep red in the centre) sausages! Each sausage required a different preparation to complete it.

The bratwurst was inspired by our time in Germany, where we ate blood sausage, sauerkraut, and drank beer and cocktails. I decided to make that classic German snack of currywurst, which is a pork sausage covered in a tomato-curry sauce. I used this recipe to make the currywurst sauce, but I added Worcestershire sauce, and didn’t use as much sugar as listed in the recipe.

I boiled it until it was thick, and then strained out the vegetables. Meanwhile, I’d gently cooked the bratwurst, so I added the sauce and a sprinkling of curry sauce.

Unfortunately I didn’t have any little cardboard containers to serve it in, so had to be content with a plate. I was really happy with the way the sauce came out – it was deep and tomato-ey as well as having a nice curry flavour. The bratwurst itself was juicy and really big in flavour and worked with the sauce really well.

Next was the merguez. This is apparently often served with couscous, so I cooked some cinnamon, garlic, dates, lemon juice, roast capsicum (left over from going in the sausage) and cayenne pepper with a bit of water, and when it was all blended I added the couscous. I served the merguez with the couscous and some more of the roasted capsicum.

I thought this sausage was really clever. It was spicy, certainly, but was more interesting than just being a ‘spicy’ sausage. The couscous was also fairly spicy, set off by the sweetness of the dates and the capsicum.

I turned next to Britain, where we spend a fabulous if slightly manic time – including a visit to St John with my fellow Charcutepalooza participants Nic Cooks and Saffron and Salt (if it gives a sense of the manic-ness of our time in the UK – we got straight off the plane, checked in at our hotel, and then raced over to St John…) – Nic has already done a great writeup of our meal here.

When I looked at English sausage dishes, nothing seemed so quintessentially English as Toad in the Hole. According to some sources, the most common sausage to use for Toad in the Hole is the Oxford sausage, popularised by Mrs Beeton. Now, I didn’t visit Oxford on this trip, but I did spend the day in Cambridge, and Mrs Beeton listed a Cambridge sausage which was a variation on the Oxford. The main difference was that it contained beef, pork, veal and bacon, but retained the other basic flavourings (sage, lemon and other herbs) of the Oxford sausage.

Once I’d made the sausages, I made a batter for Toad in the Hole from eggs, flour, milk, water and salt and pepper. I heated up a tin with some oil in the oven, and when it was hot, I poured in the batter and added the sausages. It took about 30 minutes to cook, and I dived into it almost as soon as it was out of the oven!

This was real comfort food. The pastry gave a nice envelope for the sausage, which was really solid and meaty! The lemon and sage helped lift the heaviness of the meat and overall I really liked this dish.

Finally, I had to do something Australian! I went with kangaroo meat, and used the venison sausage recipe in Ruhlman and Polcyn’s Charcuterie as a starting point for this sausage. As kangaroo is so lean, I added some pork and also a fair amount of fat to compensate, as well as additional spices. I decided to cold smoke this sausage, so grabbed some gum leaves to add to my smoking mixture to make it more Australian…or something…

I cold smoked the sausages for about 15 minutes and then grilled them.

I was surprised how much the kangaroo flavour came through in this sausage! It was really gamey, but had a nice amount of juiciness thanks to the fat. The smokey flavour definitely came through and had added a touch of sweetness to the sausage – although I’m not sure the leaves added much flavour!

By the way, you might notice the uniting element in all these dishes – beer. I can categorically state that after much experimentation, beer goes with all types of sausages! At least all of these sausages…

While making these sausages wasn’t quite the same as travelling to all these countries, it was great to try out some new and different types of sausages and accompanying sauces. As I settle back into Real Life, I can at least console myself with the excess sausages I have in my freezer!

Comments»

1. Nic - May 15, 2011

They all look delicious and not a bad attempt at toad in hole for an Aussie!

inspiredbywolfe - May 16, 2011

Considering I’ve not seen or tasted toad in the hole before, I think it was a good effort! Although I must admit that the currywurst was my favourite…

Nic - June 2, 2011

A very good effort indeed, and if you’re ever in Sydney I will have to come you some so you have something to compare it to!


Leave a Reply

