jump to navigation

Gazpacho April 2, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Vegetables.
Tags:
trackback

Or, a way to celebrate the last gasps of summer. Now, you’ll need to read these steps carefully – gazpacho is very complicated and there are lots of involved steps.

1. Put tomatoes, celery, chilli, garlic, red onion, parsley, salt, pepper and anything else that strikes your fancy / you have in your fridge into a blender. Blend for a bit.

2. As the mixture is blended, add more tomatoes (and so on) to the blender. Blend again!

2a (bonus step if you’re me). As the mixture is pretty much smooth, realise that the last nubs on your ‘blender coupler’ have broken off, and your blender no longer has the ability to blend. Decide you like your gazpacho chunky anyway.

3. Put into fancy glass and wander around the house/outside trying to find a suitable location to photograph the finished gazpacho.

3a (another bonus step for me). Give up on the ideal gazpacho shot and eat it!

I am being silly but I had forgotten how delicious gazpacho is. This was definitely not just tomatoes (although it helped that the tomatoes I had were freshly picked and quite ripe) and the celery and the garlic in particular made a big impact. Normally I’m not a huge fan of raw garlic but in this context it worked very well. Overall, it was refreshing, spicy and flavoursome and helped to remind me how delicious fresh vegetables can be!

Comments»

1. mosaica - April 2, 2011

Mm, it looks really good, particularly as we’re just starting tomato seedlings in my neck of the woods. I’m so craving my first home-grown radishes & wild-harvested greens! I liked points 3 and 3a 🙂

inspiredbywolfe - April 3, 2011

For me, point 3a was definitely my favourite! Number 3 was just painful…
This bunch of tomatoes was really the last for the summer, and was certainly a great way to remind ourselves what fresh tomatoes taste like – hopefully I can remember until summer comes again!


Leave a Reply

