jump to navigation

Dragon cupcakes February 22, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
trackback

No process shots I’m afraid – just some cupcakes I made for a friend who has a fondness for Asian imagery.

I can’t take credit for the idea – I saw this version by Planet Cake and wanted to create my own. I started with an image of a dragon, then I traced circles the same size as the cupcake tops to create individual cupcake designs. I used a writable icing pen to transfer the outlines of the designs onto each black circle, to make sure they’d all line up. After colouring my fondant, I cut out lots of green scales and red triangles for the spines/plates down the back. I powered through the body cupcakes, and even the tail was not too difficult. Then I got to the head…

It took me two or three attempts to get the head the right shape to then build on. I started with a bottom layer of green fondant, adding separate pieces for the nose and ear outline. I then built up the other colours for the beard, ear and horns (do dragons have horns?!) before finally adding the green accents and whiskers. I would calculate that it took me almost as long to complete the head, as it did for me to make all of the body cupcakes.

And to go with the dragon – some cherry blossoms. I’ve been practicing recently making simple flowers like small roses and these cherry blossoms. I find them a lot of fun to make, but I’m not sure I have the patience to do the more complex flowers! I made some mini cupcakes, swirled some blue and white buttercream icing together, and added the flowers on top.

The final effect with everything assembled at my friend’s house:

Now, I talked previously about Year of the Dragon coming up and how I’d never get the opportunity to eat a dragon. Now I am happy to report that dragons are delicious! At least this one was. And although he looks ferocious, he was actually very sweet!

Comments»

1. mosaica - February 22, 2011

Beautiful job! I’m born in the year of the dragon, and my birthday is in December.. Vermont in December is lovely! *beam*

inspiredbywolfe - February 22, 2011

Thanks very much! They were a lot of fun to do, and didn’t take as long as I was expecting. If I was born in the year of the dragon, I’d be requesting dragon cakes every year!

2. Chinese Dragon Cupcakes « The Cupcake Blog - April 16, 2011

[…] Kirsten aka Inspired by Wolfe Share this: Posted by The Cupcake Connoisseur in Animal Cupcakes and tagged […]


Leave a Reply

