jump to navigation

Happy Chinese New Year! February 6, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Game.
trackback

I’m a few days late, as Chinese New Year was on 3 February, but I’d still like to wish everyone a happy new year! As you may already know, this year is the Year of the Rabbit. What better way to celebrate than to eat a delicious rabbit?!

When I went looking for recipes, I couldn’t find many Chinese dishes including rabbit. So I decided to make up my own! To start with, I made a sauce of brown sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, chili and star anise. I was lucky enough to buy a rabbit with its livers included, so I chopped them up and added them to the sauce. I placed some pieces of garlic, ginger and spring onions into the cavity of the rabbit and poured the sauce over the top.

I was really concerned with ensuring that the rabbit didn’t dry out and become tough while cooking. Rabbit doesn’t have much fat, and many recipes suggest wrapping it in bacon or another fatty, salty meat, to help insulate the rabbit and add some flavour. I decided to roast it in a fair amount of chicken stock, and roast it at a medium-low temperature, to (hopefully) prevent it drying out.

In the end, I cooked it for about 1.5 hours, checking it 3 or 4 times. I let it rest while I prepared the rest of the meal.

I chopped up some bok choi, and cooked it in the remaining juices and stock left over from the rabbit. While it was cooking, I chopped the rabbit up into pieces and arranged them on a tray. When the bok choi was ready, I added it around the rabbit.

If this rabbit was any indication, this year will be delicious! Thankfully, the rabbit was moist and not dried out at all! It was tangy and sweet, with a little bit of spice from the sauce. The bok choi had absorbed much of the sauce too, and they were nicely flavoured too.

This dish could be successfully made with chicken; however, there was a definite game-y taste to the rabbit which would be missing from the chicken.

Next year (2012) is the Year of the Dragon, so it doesn’t look like I’ll be making a habit of eating all the animals from the Chinese zodiac. However, I must say that I was happy that this year was such a delicious animal!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

