jump to navigation

Chocolate cupcakes with caramel filling January 28, 2011

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
Tags:
trackback

This post is special for a couple of reasons. One, it’s a sweet thing that isn’t a giant cake! Hurrah! And second, this post represents the 100th one since I started this blog. To all of you who have read, commented, tweeted and emailed: thankyou! I’m constantly surprised that anyone except for me would want to read this, and I am very appreciative of all of you who do.

I’d like to say that I planned this post to be something sweet and indulgent, but the truth is that I made these on a whim after seeing too many photos of filled cupcakes. To start with, I made a simple chocolate cupcake  batch, and while they cooled, I prepared the caramel.

I began by slowly heating water, sugar and a bit of corn syrup in a saucepan.

I let it heat up gradually, shaking the pot occasionally. When it boiled, I turned the temperature up slightly and washed down the sides of the pot as needed. It took quite a while, but it eventually started to turn brown. As I didn’t have a candy thermometer, I wasn’t sure exactly when to take it off the heat, so I waited until it was a deep golden colour. I removed it from the heat and added some cream. I couldn’t take any photos at this point as it bubbled up quite violently but here’s a picture of it cooling down:

You can see on the sides of the pot how high it bubbled up!

Next, I checked that the cupcakes were cool, and cut a cone out of the middle of each cupcake. I then filled each hole with the caramel.

Now, you may notice the slight crater-like, cracked tops of the cupcakes. It’s fair enough to say that I’m still getting used to our new oven! (if you think these are bad, you should have seen the macarons I tried to make!) The oven and I are having a few fights but are gradually learning how to work together.

When I’d filled all the cupcakes, I replaced the dough cones I’d cut out, pushing them down into the caramel as best as I could. I iced them with some coffee flavoured icing I had left over from the aforementioned failed macarons, and let them dry overnight.

You may think the combination of chocolate, caramel and coffee is a bit over the top – and you’d be right! However, this does not mean they weren’t delicious and addictive. The caramel was gooey enough to have a completely different texture than the surrounding cake, but not so runny that it oozed out of the middle. All in all a fantastic combination!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

