jump to navigation

Happy Christmas: Christmas Cookies December 12, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
trackback

I was intending to make some Christmas cookies for the children of a friend of mine, and do some basic cookie cutouts of Christmas-related things, decorate them, and give them out. Well, I still did this, but thanks to the Mad Hausfrau, I’ve added a small word puzzle into the mix!

Otherwise called: there is no escape from the coloured sparkly sugar!

To decorate with the sugar, I iced the cookies with royal icing as usual. Once they had dried (I left them overnight), I painted them with corn syrup where I wanted to add the sugar. I sprinkled the sugar over the top and then tapped off the excess – with the sugar adhering to the corn syrup.

Another method is to add the sugar when the icing is still wet, so that it sticks straight onto the icing. This works fine if you want to cover a large part of the cookie, as in the photo above, but since I also wanted to add individual letters, I thought it was best to use corn syrup to add the letters.

I’ll pack all the cookies up together, and the recipients will have the fun activity of spelling out the super secret message (hopefully) before they eat the cookies!

And, in case you’re wondering, the cookies are made from the same dough as the Menorah cookie. So if you’re like me and like to make Hanukkah and Christmas cookies, one batch of dough can accomplish this!

Comments»

1. Lora - December 13, 2010

Very cute! jumbling is fun! I am so glad you liked the idea.

inspiredbywolfe - December 14, 2010

I think it’s a great idea! I’m definitely making more word jumble cookies in the future – they are great for both kids and adults!


Leave a Reply

