jump to navigation

Zombie Nero Wolfe October 31, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Beef, Chicken, Lamb, Pork.
Tags: ,
trackback

For my final piece of Halloween cookery, I decided it was only fitting to combine the concepts of Halloween with Nero Wolfe. The only logical conclusion to this was for me to create a zombie Nero Wolfe.

Zombies, as we know, are reanimated corpses of the recently deceased, brought back to life by magic or other means. In this case I would like to think of a zombie Nero Wolfe stalking the streets of New York, angry because there are crimes going unsolved and hoping to eat brains that have been prepared by a gourmet…

To make a zombie, it seemed the easiest medium to use was meatloaf. I decided to grind my own meat and add spices as I went, to be able to better control the flavours and appearance of the meatloaf.

Clockwise from back left we have: Chicken, flavoured with basil and sundried tomatoes, beef with onion, parsley and pepper, lamb with rosemary, pepper and parsley, and pork with basil and fennel seeds. Using the principles outlined in Charcuterie, I also added some ground up pork fat to the lamb and beef minces, as they were quite lean. I figured there was enough fat in the chicken and pork minces so I didn’t have to add any additional fat. I added salt to all of them.

Once everything was minced up, I turned them into meatloaf with the addition of breadcrumbs and egg – I didn’t bother to add tomato sauce or anything like that, as I was hoping the mince mixtures would be flavoursome enough without it.

Once the meatloaf mixes were prepared, it was time to start sculpting. Now here I must definitely acknowledge the work of H, who took over at this point and did all of the sculpting. He has far more artistic skill than I do!

Zombie Nero Wolfe had a body of beef, hands of chicken and a head of pork. Once this was sufficiently shaped, his clothes were added.

You might not be able to tell from the photo, but another layer of meat was added. Now Nero Wolfe has a suit jacket and shoes of chicken, suit pants of lamb, and hair of pork.

Once he was sufficiently sculpted, I put the meatloaf in the oven for about 40 minutes at 180°C. When it was ready, I added some finishing touches…and here I present to you: Zombie Nero Wolfe!

I was pleasantly surprised how well the different meat colours showed up and how the sculpting had remained throughout the cooking process. Nero Wolfe, even when he’s a zombie, still likes orchids, so I cut a flower out of capsicum for him to wear on his lapel. Small rounds of pickles served as suit jacket buttons, and he stares with malevolent pickled onion eyes…

As well as being scary and creepy, zombie Nero Wolfe is also delicious! I was very pleased to note the different flavours of the various minces coming through, with the beef with onions, parsley and pepper probably my favourite, with the chicken being a close second. However, all the meats were superior to a standard meatloaf, being juicy and flavoursome.

I hope everyone has a brilliant Halloween, and rest assured that no zombie Nero Wolfes will be following you, as he has been consumed and will be wandering the streets no more!

Comments»

1. Virginia Lee - November 1, 2010

This is so much better than meatloaf baby. You are awesome!

inspiredbywolfe - November 1, 2010

Thanks Virginia! I wanted it to look scary, but not so horrifying we wouldn’t want to eat it! And I cannot take any credit for the sculpting, that was all H. As a positive, he has now decided he wants to do more meat sculpting! Happy Halloween!

2. amcatoir - November 1, 2010

The shirt came out yellow! Awesome. Glad it tasted good too.

inspiredbywolfe - November 1, 2010

We were thinking of adding some cheese but then thought it was yellow enough so we didn’t bother. Glad you liked it!

3. Tweets that mention Zombie Nero Wolfe « Inspired by Wolfe -- Topsy.com - November 1, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Anna Marie, Inspiredbywolfe. Inspiredbywolfe said: The most horrifying zombie of all: Zombie Nero Wolfe: http://wp.me/pKqwn-8H […]

4. iolanthegabrie - November 3, 2010

I love this meatloaf man, he sounds mouthwateringly delicious. Hey, when did you start grinding your own meat?

inspiredbywolfe - November 4, 2010

I’ve been grinding my meat since I’ve been making sausages (see here) – so not that long, but I’d not go back to store bought mince now. Grinding my own meat means I can control the cut of the meat used – so it’s better quality – and of course I can also flavour it as I go. Delicious!


Leave a Reply

