jump to navigation

Pork roast with chipotle-glazed apples September 13, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Pork.
Tags:
trackback

In my ongoing attempts to persuade spring to come and stay in Melbourne, I decided to make a roast. However, rather than making a heavy, beef-based roast, I thought I’d try a pork roast. I picked up a rolled pork loin from my butcher and began on the preparation. I very roughly followed this recipe from Epicurious; however, I did not marinate the meat overnight and it still came out very nicely.

To start with, I made a spice mix of brown sugar, cumin, salt, pepper and chili flakes. I packed it onto the pork as best I could, erring on the side of too much rather than not enough spice mix. I added some water to the bottom of the pan so that the extra sugar didn’t turn into a sticky mess.

One thing I do like about roasts is that you can put them in the oven and forget about them – at least for a period of time! In this case, it wasn’t a huge roast, so I prepared the side dishes while the roast was cooking.

One element I was curious about was this side dish of chipotle-glazed apples. While I didn’t have any tinned chipotles, I did have some dried ones. I toasted one, chopped it up, and placed it in a pan of water for the pieces to soften.

I chopped up a couple of apples into thin slices – I didn’t bother peeling them. The recipe said to toss them in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar but since I still had the spice mix left from the pork (which was mostly sugar), I added a bit of cinnamon to ot and tossed the apples in that instead.

By this time the chipotles had softened and the water had boiled off. I added a bit of oil, and then the apple pieces. I flipped them as they cooked. It didn’t take long to cook them all – maybe 5 minutes or so.

By this time, the roast was done. I left it to rest on a plate while I used the juices from the pan to make a sauce. I added red wine, salt and a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up.

I also made a quick salad of chopped cabbage, radish and a soy sauce-based dressing. When everything was ready it was time to serve.

The verdict: the cabbage and radish was a very nice combination, and added a nice textural element to the dish, although I was a little disappointed the radishes were not spicier. The pork was delicious, with the spice mix adding a sweet/sour combination which went very well with the meat. But this dish was all about the apples – they were delicious! Sweet from the sugar, spicy (without being overpowering) and smoky from the chipotles – I was sorry I didn’t make more. The thinner slices had gone almost crispy while the thicker ones were soft and provided more apple flavour. Such a great combination of salty, sour and sweet.

So you may be wondering if my attempts to cook spring into existence have worked. I think I have been moderately successful although not 100 percent. The sky stays lighter for longer, and the wind isn’t quite as cold – there is a hint of spring in the air although it is still not here yet. I try to encourage it as much as I can!

Comments»

1. Teena - September 14, 2010

that looks deviously edlicious. Funny, I was making the first pumpkin carrot ginger orange.. lotsofotherthings soup of the year today – it’s getting autumn over here 🙂
Will try the roast with roasted autumn veggies… mouth is watering already.
And the sauerkraut is taking its bl***y time 🙂

2. inspiredbywolfe - September 14, 2010

I must admit that I’m looking forward to spring and summer vegetables! Winter seems to have gone on for longer than usual, and it has been very grey and overcast. But the roast with autumn vegetables would be delicious.
The sauerkraut will be well worth the wait! Your patience will definitely be rewarded.


Leave a Reply

