jump to navigation

Lavender icecubes August 25, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Drinks.
trackback

I wasn’t really sure what to call this. While the end results are icecubes of sorts, to just call them icecubes is also understating their impact. I got the idea for this concoction from the hibiscus recipe over at Alinea at Home, but completely acknowledge that the end result is nothing like the original!

I used lavender mainly because that’s what I had access to, and I was curious to see what lavender tasted like, rather than just smelling it. If I did this again, I’d be interested in trying it with dried flowers rather than fresh, to see what the difference is like.

To start with, I added sugar and salt to some water and brought it to a boil. When all the sugar and salt had dissolved, I added the lavender and left it to cool to room temperature.

When it had cooled, I removed the lavender stalks and tipped the mixture into a squeezy bottle, so I could then add it to my ice cube tray. I added some extra small pieces of lavender into the individual icecubes. I didn’t have spheres to use to freeze the liquid, so stars were the best option I had…

I left them in the freezer overnight, and here’s what I had the next day:

As you can see they were quite opaque, and were chewey-er than normal icecubes. They didn’t crunch or shatter like normal icecubes but instead could be chewed before they melted.

I decided to make a variation on a lavender martini (which usually uses lavender syrup), and used gin, vermouth, lemon juice and a touch of bitters. I used 2 lavender icecubes per martini, shaking them with the rest of the cocktail mixture, and also added another icecube to the glass.

The cocktail smelled strongly of lavender, but this was balanced by the taste of the lemon juice and bitters. The lavender taste came through in the drink, but not as strongly as I was expecting given the smell. Overall the drink was quite refreshing!

As the icecube in the cocktail melted, the lavender flower inside was released, which I thought was a nice touch. As I still have more lavender icecubes in the freezer, I’m sure more cocktails will be constructed using them! I would urge everyone to try this recipe (or better still, the original one from Alinea at Home) as it is very easy, and the results are well worth the effort.

Comments»

1. Rosario - January 19, 2011

wooow interesting, now i feel like trying this!


Leave a Reply

