jump to navigation

More cakage August 8, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Sweet things.
trackback

A quick post to summarise some of my recent cake-related activities!

After the Cluedo cake, I got inspired to do a couple more entries for the Threadcakes competition. Click on the images below to go to the entries, and I again urge you to look through the gallery, as there are lots of brilliant cakes!

I made a cake in the shape of a cow! It was lemon-flavoured but I coloured it red so it looked more like meat:

I also made a series of cupcakes with hedgehogs on them, mainly because I thought the design was pretty cute:

And finally, I helped a friend ice 118 cupcakes for her daughter’s birthday. Why 118 cupcakes? Because each one represented an element in the periodic table! My friend has put a post on her blog explaining the process here, and there’s a shot of the final cupcake periodic table here.

My recent flurry of cake-related activity is funny given that I much prefer savoury things to sweet things. I do, however, very much enjoy decorating cakes so I’m sure I’ll do more in the future. For those readers rolling their eyes at all the cake posts around here – never fear! There are more savoury dishes coming up!

Comments»

1. Virginia Lee - August 8, 2010

I LOVE the hedgehog cupcakes!

And the cow cake is awesome if a tad ickyish.

As to your friend and that incredible periodic table? WOW!

Excellent blog today, hon.

inspiredbywolfe - August 8, 2010

Thanks Virginia! Your description of the cow cake as ‘awesome if a tad ickyish’ is pretty much the reaction I was hoping for, so I’ll definitely take it as a complement 🙂

As for the periodic table cupcakes, I volunteered to help out as soon as I heard about the project! They were a lot of fun to do – although it is fair to say that the true extent of ‘118 cupcakes’ didn’t hit home until after we’d started…

2. Kathy - August 8, 2010

Never a truer word than this: “the true extent of ’118 cupcakes’ didn’t hit home until after we’d started…” But it was fun, if exhausting. And the party went great. And I owe you, bigtime! (Thanks again).

3. Spencer @ Moo-Lolly-Bar - August 30, 2010

How great do those cupcakes look! They wouldn’t last five minutes if they were placed in front of me!


Leave a Reply

