jump to navigation

Chopped liver and bagels August 4, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Innards.
Tags:
trackback

This recipe is perhaps more up Archie’s alley than Nero Wolfe’s, as Archie is far more likely to be out and about, eating his lunch while in the middle of a case. While Archie is definitely fond of some take-away lunch foods, I would like to think that he would also be partial to chopped livers – in this case with homemade bagels too. Now, I must admit that while I have been to New York, I’ve never eaten chopped liver there – so I apologise if my version does not live up to the original.

I started by preparing the bagels. I followed this recipe here and used a combination of white and wholemeal bread flours. After I’d mixed the dough and let it rest for a bit, I rolled it out and chopped it into 8, and again let it rest for about 20 minutes.

Next, I took each ball, rolled it out into a strip, and folded the ends over to make a circle. And yes, I did watch the video at the end of the recipe! I found it a bit difficult to manoeuvre but in the end managed to squish together all the dough ends – some came together better than others.

Again I had to let them rest for another 20 minutes – the recipe said the bagels would start to look puffy and mine did a bit but not as much as I was expecting. I’m thinking that maybe because I just left them on my bench top, which was quite cool, they didn’t rise as much as they could have. After they’d rested, I boiled them – only about 1 minute on each side – and then placed them on a cooking tray. While I had been worried that they hadn’t puffed up enough during their resting periods, this wasn’t a problem when they were boiling!

When they’d all been boiled, I put them in the oven for around 15 minutes. While they were cooking, I got to work on the livers.

To make the livers, I roughly followed this recipe, although I did not have any chicken fat so I had to use oil to cook my livers in. I chopped up an onion, and sautéed the onion with the livers.

They didn’t take long to cook – 4 minutes at most. I moved them around the pan in order to get them evenly cooked. Once they were cooked, I took the whole mixture out and dumped it all on a cutting board. I began chopping them up, moving the knife through them to try and get them chopped as small as possible. I transferred the mixture to a bowl, so I could better mix them and incorporate everything together. The livers were so soft, and it really didn’t take long to have everything combined.

When that was done, it was simply a matter of combining everything. I chopped a bagel in half, added the liver, some dill pickles and sauerkraut. I put some lettuce on the plate in an attempt to look healthy, and sat down to enjoy lunch.

I was very pleased with the end result. The liver was rich and had a smooth flavour, which was offset by the salty dill pickles and sauerkraut – the sauerkraut also added a touch of sharpness which was nice. The bagels were chewy and I quite liked them – although next time I make them I will add an egg wash on top of them so the crust gets crunchier.

This was a really quick and simple lunch to prepare and the end result was well worth the effort. I actually refused going out to lunch the next day so I could eat my liver leftovers instead!

Comments»

1. Virginia Lee - August 4, 2010

It looks gorgeous and yummy! Well done. Once our weather gets more rational, I’m going to try making chopped liver. I’ve been wanting to for years.

Do you make your own sauerkraut? I’ve never been a big fan of the stuff my mom used to buy, but I understand homemade is much better.

inspiredbywolfe - August 5, 2010

I’ve only made a couple batches of sauerkraut, but I think it’s much better than the storebought stuff (although I like that too!). The cabbage retains far more crispness and crunch, so it has a great texture as well as flavour. Making it yourself also means you can control how long to pickle it depending if you want it strong or weak. I didn’t really follow a recipe but I describe how I made sauerkraut here: https://inspiredbywolfe.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/sauerkraut/

2. Adelaide - August 5, 2010

i have never met anyone else whose instinctive reaction to ‘it must be lunchtime’ is ‘let’s get out the camera – there’s a blog post in this!’

Good thing you have interesting lunches, is all I can say…

inspiredbywolfe - August 5, 2010

Hi Adelaide,

I must admit that my sometimes rushed and slap-dash photo jobs are because I get too impatient for the eating part and need to rush through the photographing part!

3. Enoch Chasson - August 28, 2017

Leave a Reply

