jump to navigation

Sausage making part 2: A Nero Wolfe breakfast July 30, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Pork, Vegetables, Wolfe recipe.
Tags:
trackback

To continue my sausage making adventures, I decided to put together a breakfast sausage and create a breakfast for Nero Wolfe. Again, I turned to my Charcuterie book for the sausage recipe. This time I made sage and ginger sausages; the procedure was very similar to last time: dice up the pork meat, add spices and toss, grind the meat and fat, and stuff into sausage casings. Again I proved that two people are really needed for the sausage-making part, with H assisting me after watching me attempt to push sausage meat through the grinder with my chin pressing on the pusher!

I had made the sausages in the evening – the next morning, I set about making an appropriate breakfast for Nero Wolfe. I quickly decided that this breakfast must include corn fritters – they are eaten extensively at the Brownstone for both breakfast and lunch, and appear to be one of Nero Wolfe’s favourite meals.

Now, I have a question for readers with the Nero Wolfe Cookbook – have you managed to cook the corn fritters recipe successfully, as it is written in the book (in my copy the recipe is on page 97)? Because mine didn’t work out too well when I followed the recipe – after some hasty modifications, I was on my way, but it was hit and miss there for a minute! So I would be very interested to learn if it’s just me who mucked it up, or if it’s the recipe.

Anyway – I began by taking some ears of corn and slitting them to let the corn milk/juice drain out. I decided to use 4 ears of corn, for 2 people.

I managed to get most of the corn milk in the bowl, although it did splatter a little! Next, I mixed in salt, milk and flour in the quantities indicated (1/4 cup milk, 2 tablespoons flour). I was a little skeptical at this point as there didn’t seem to be much batter, but I persisted and refrigerated the mixture as directed. In the meantime, I whipped up two eggwhites into stiff peaks. I folded this into the corn mixture and this is what I had.

In the meantime, I had also fried the sausages in some butter – some of the skins split but they certainly smelled delicious with the sage and ginger having a strong presence. Once the sausages were done, I began to fry the corn fritters. I dumped spoonfuls into the same frying pan I cooked the sausages in – they looked OK at this point, with the egg whites holding things together…

However, when I went to flip them over, disaster struck! Rather than flipping neatly, corn went flying everywhere – they had not bound together at all (although the base was definitely cooked)! I don’t have any photos, unfortunately, because I was too busy cleaning up the corn. This is where I started to get creative with quantities, and mixed in far more flour and milk into the remaining corn mix, turning it into a more standard pancake batter-type consistency. After mixing in the additional flour and milk, I was able to cook the rest of the fritters with no problems whatsoever. I’m not sure if the quantities in the book were out, if I didn’t whip the eggwhites enough, if I had too much corn….

After cooking all the fritters, I prepared individual breakfast (OK it was more like brunch by now) plates with sausages, fritters, some (tinned) blueberries and honey.

In true Nero Wolfe fashion, we ate our breakfast with a beer accompaniment – Wheat Beer from the Red Hill Brewery. The whole breakfast was an excellent combination of sweet and savoury, and I was surprised how well the honey went the sausages. The fritters were on the light side with the corn again being very sweet. The sage and ginger in the sausages were an excellent combination and while this breakfast was definitely on the heavy side, it was also refreshing with a great combination of flavours. All in all, the second sausage making experiment could be considered ‘highly satisfactory’!

Comments»

1. Virginia Lee - July 30, 2010

Oh yum. That looks fantastic! I admire you for making sausages. Well done!

inspiredbywolfe - July 31, 2010

Thanks very much! I’ve actually been surprised how easy it is – slightly tedious and time consuming, but not as difficult as I was expecting! I’m intending to go on making different types of sausages from now on.

2. Tweets that mention Sausage making part 2: A Nero Wolfe breakfast « Inspired by Wolfe -- Topsy.com - July 30, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Virginia Lee, Inspiredbywolfe. Inspiredbywolfe said: Sausages and corn fritters: A Nero Wolfe breakfast: http://wp.me/pKqwn-73 […]


Leave a Reply

