jump to navigation

RIP Maury Chaykin July 28, 2010

Posted by inspiredbywolfe in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ll have a proper post up tomorrow, but in the meantime I wanted to pay tribute to Maury Chaykin, who passed away yesterday. He was a brilliant actor, and provided the best interpretation of the Nero Wolfe character that I have seen. He pops up all over the place in film and TV; one of my favourite non-Wolfe appearances was his turn in Wargames as a hacker. He provided (and will continue to provide) hours of entertainment and he will be missed.

Comments»

1. Erin - July 29, 2010

I learned to love the books through this series. I’ve seen other versions, but for me, Maury Chaykin was Nero Wolfe. He left us far too soon and will be missed, but I am glad that we have his work on DVDs so that we can enjoy it for years to come.

2. inspiredbywolfe - July 31, 2010

Hi Erin,

I agree that Chaykin provided the best Nero Wolfe we have seen. While I’m not sure I always agreed 100% with his interpretation, his was far superior to other versions. I’m also glad that the DVDs are available so that we can continue to enjoy his work into the future.

3. Kevin - August 4, 2010

Maury Chaykin was definitely Wolfe to me; as Tim Hutton will always be Archie Goodwin, no matter what else I see him in. (“Leverage” strikes me as Archie-lite)

Our thoughts with Mr. Chaykin’s family at this sad time.

– Kevin


Leave a Reply

